The Administration Department functions in three primary areas. This includes the Mayor & City Council, the Office of the City Manager, City Attorney, and the City Secretary. 

It is the primary function of the City Manager, the City Secretary and the City Attorney to support the Mayor & Council. A Mayor and five City Council members are elected to the City Council. The Mayor and City Council are elected at-large to their positions by the voters and serve the entire City, not a geographic precinct. They each serve two-year staggered terms. A Mayor Pro-Tem is appointed annually by Council members. The City Council’s primary responsibility is to set policy and provide oversight of the municipal organization. Examples of activity include the adoption of the City’s yearly budget and the various policies the Council sets at public meetings..