Texas Ban on Texting While Driving
On September 1, 2017, a statewide ban on texting while driving will go into effect. Texas House Bill 62 will outlaw text messaging with handheld wireless devices. This includes reading, writing or sending text messages while driving a motor vehicle. The new law specifies “electronic messaging” includes email and instant messaging. The State law does not ban the entry of phone numbers, voice commands and hands-free texting. The fines for texting while driving are $25-$99 for the first offense, then $100 to $200 for subsequent offenses. Fines of up to $4000 may be assessed If someone causes a death or serious injury while texting and driving. For more information on House Bill 62, you can visit https://openstates.org/tx/bills/85/HB62/.